Select Page
Poker Forum
Over 1,304,000 Posts!
Poker ForumBeginners Circle

What's the rule about raising after an all in?

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1

    Default What's the rule about raising after an all in?

    What's the rule about raising after an all in? I see sometimes on Party where someone goes all in and the others in the hand can't re-raise, they can only call. What determines that? I was thinking maybe it was when the all in was less than the minimum raise - is that right?
  2. #2
    aislephive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    1,549
    Location
    Downswinging holla!
    You can reraise after an all in, you either do at least twice what the all in bet was or if you don't have that then you go all in for the rest of your stack. If you go reraise after an all in it usually means that you're trying to isolate against one player.
  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by aislephive
    You can reraise after an all in, you either do at least twice what the all in bet was or if you don't have that then you go all in for the rest of your stack. If you go reraise after an all in it usually means that you're trying to isolate against one player.
    I don't think his question is why would you do it is what governs when you can't reraise an all in and my answer is idk, my guess is when you can't raise it double the all in.
  4. #4
    The OP is correct here.
    You can not raise after an all in if the all in was less than the minimum raise.
    You can raise after an all in if the all in was more than the minimum raise, no matter what your stack size is.
    To win in poker you only need to be one step ahead of your opponents. Two steps may be detrimental.
  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Demiparadigm
    The OP is correct here.
    You can not raise after an all in if the all in was less than the minimum raise.
    You can raise after an all in if the all in was more than the minimum raise, no matter what your stack size is.
    Which is the most stupid rule in poker. Pot is 1200, and some idiot has 200 chips left, goes all in, and allows someone to draw on you when you flop the best hand because you can't raise.
    It's not what's inside that counts. Have you seen what's inside?
    Internal organs. And they're getting uglier by the minute.
  6. #6
    I think you're confused here Rondavu...there would have to be a bet of at least 101 chips that you either made or can action on first. For example, if the round of betting is like so:
    You bet 101, Guy1 calls, Guy2 goes all in for 200
    You may call 99 or fold. Same for Guy1...because the only action to reply to is a non-actionable raise.

    However, if it goes like this:
    Guy1 bets 101, Guy2 raises AI for 200
    You get to action it.

    Do you see the difference or am I not being particularly clear this morning? (or am I being retarded and not understanding the rule myself...)
    Up my bankroll - buy Saints Row.
  7. #7
    Hey thanks. That occurance had always confused me a bit.
    It's not what's inside that counts. Have you seen what's inside?
    Internal organs. And they're getting uglier by the minute.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All content
©  2003 - 2025
FlopTurnRiver.com
Testimonials  |   Terms & Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   FTR News & Press  

FTR is your home for Texas Holdem Strategy, Poker Forum, Poker Tools & Poker Videos
https://www.flopturnriver.com/copyscape.gif
DMCA.com